Shakespeare Speak

Everyday expressions

All these expressions underlined in the sentences below come from Shakespeare’s writing. They are still frequently used in modern English.

  1. One second she was there and then when I turned round she had vanished into thin air.
  2. I’m so tired. I didn’t sleep a wink last night.
  3. I know he’s my own flesh and blood, but I don’t get on with my brother very well at all.
  4. I saw about a hundred faces sitting in front of me and when I opened my mouth and tried to speak I became completely tongue-tied.
  5. I think it’s high time you started working harder. You’ve done nothing for three months now.
  6. 6.     The sound of fingernails scraping a blackboard sets my teeth on edge.
  7. She just started attacking him without rhyme or reason. No one can understand why she did it.
Responder

